Written Thoughts: The Companion Series

Join the Journey, Get Inside Our Heads.


 

advent-551796_960_720

This isn’t my first behind-the-scenes post and it won’t be the last.

If you’ve followed A.W.A. long enough you’ve caught sight of one or two before. So what’s the difference between then and now? Other than the title, and this set-up that should make you wonder what in the world I’m up to, this post is going to be the first of our Written Thoughts series.

Going forward I (and hopefully M.J. if I can one, get her to post again; and two, go along with it) will post a companion piece that goes behind the scenes. I’m sure you all understand the concept.

Please be sure to comment on what you’d like to see more of, or less of. But don’t forget, these will be my notes and thoughts behind the posts so I may or may not implement your ideas. BUT DON”T LET THAT DISCOURAGE YOU! I want to hear them. We want to hear them.

But onto the main event: just what is the companion series for?

As exciting as “The End” may be, it’s getting there that makes it worth the journey. When I read, I look forward to the twists and turns, the high and lows. I revel in the overly righteous and the wrongly judged villains. The more a writer makes me think, the deeper I fall into the pages. And when the final page is turned, the story goes on for me. I look into meanings. I don’t know about you, but there’s something about knowing background information.

Why that name? Why that scene? Is there significance in a location? In the title?

Sometimes I can find the information I’m searching for, and sometimes I can’t.

I’ve taken that love for the extra bits and applied it to my own writing. That’s why my favorite aspect of writing is the creation. For a painter, it’s picking the brush, the canvas, and letting the hues come together into a picture that only they really know the depth of. A musician takes his time in meshing his life into metaphors and giving it three to four minutes of beats and rhythm. A sculptor chisels away to provide a chance for his creation to touch others that will never know what it truly means.

My writing is far from awe inspiring but I do think of it as something precious to me. Every piece, every line, every word…I breathe into all of it.

Names are my thing. I will slave over finding the perfect name. I will sit and feel it out, swishing it around in my mouth to break down the flavor. I will write it down, try different fonts, let my characters use it. That is my favorite kind of breadcrumb.

That aside, I love meanings behind names and places. Even little things like why a character likes to wear green or the lamp on the nightstand that I’ll never write about formally but know is there is interesting. Haven’t you ever read something and wondered why the character studies in a café instead of the library or their room? Things like that

With the Written Thoughts Companion Series I hope to allow our readers in because I know how much it means to read something in a new light. This series will be about the creative path that got us to the end product. It will generally be posted the day after the main post so people have a chance to read the main post before the veil is pulled back and you get to see all the strings.

I hope you like it as much as I will.

Fingers Crossed!

P.S. There will be one later today for “Forever, and Ever”. Be sure to read both to get the full effect of this companion series.

 

©2016 Maura D.

