Tags

, , ,

 

It’s been a long time since I sat down to really connect with you. By you, I mean the browsers, visitors, and readers of A.W.A. How are you? I hope life isn’t testing you too much.

I wanted to share with you a little about what brought about Blood Drive. I’m one of those people who like to know the meaning behind things. I find interviews exciting because you get to know what a writer, author, actor, singer, etc was thinking when they were putting their all into this work or art that touched you in some way shape or form. That’s why I will torture you with background tidbits, because I want to share that secret nugget of creativity.

So what did inspire Blood Drive?

Initially, Blood Drive was nothing but a prompt. I stared at the sentence for weeks and a few ideas surfaced. At one point it was going to be a snarky scene between a pair of my sins, but after nearly getting into an accident one night, those thoughts shifted. What if the prompt was about driving? That was it! It would be an accident, a sad, life altering accident.

I planned to have the survivor recanting the accident to the one slipping away and begging them to stay. Better yet, it could have been a lament in prayer seconds before the person died. I wanted to really move you but then I started writing….

Line after line, the piece transcended from morbidity, but it still wasn’t what I expected. The scene in my head was one between a boyfriend and girlfriend. They were doing what the typical American with a car and technology does, taking a drive out to a place they never visited before.

If you have ever done a road trip before then you know the struggle between driver and navigator. There can be a bit of tension there. I still thought on the accident though. That was around the time when Julia tossed the gps onto Manny’s lap. In an alternate version, they got hit and one of the two died. Here, however, the only collision that happens is the one between two siblings who have been stuck in a car together for way too long.

The relationship between them is an easy one and I like it. It wasn’t the piece I expected, much like every other time, but it turned out alright. I’m not going to go as far as great. I am proud of it though and that’s all that I could ask of myself.

