Tags

, , ,

Chair-LOWRES-1Note From The Writer

This has been a long time coming. I told myself nobody wanted to read about my day-to-day habits or what I thought about various aspects of writing. I told myself, “That isn’t what they’re coming for”, in order to throw my all into my current writing challenge without any regrets.

And I did.

I dedicated my time to prompts instead of reflections and character building. I took down the schedule and cut off the connection I worked so hard to form with those that skimmed over my ramblings. Since it was to get further in my writing challenge, something I was eager to tackle, I didn’t give myself time to really think about what I was leaving behind in my excitement.

It’s been a few months now since I tossed out the schedule and I can honestly say, I miss my Tuesday reflections. I felt like I was leaving a door open for people who wanted a little something extra. Not just stories but a person. Sure, I could have continued doing the brief comment at the end of each prompt piece I posted but I didn’t want to take away from the piece itself so I didn’t. I also didn’t want to go against my ridiculous notion of, no personal comment. But, I’ve come to miss sharing my thoughts and findings with you.

Today was supposed to be another short piece, number thirty-two of my 100 Sentence Prompts Writing Challenge, but this happened.

Every time I tried to write past the first sentence, I thought about you lot. I wanted to put up a poll to ask what you wanted to see/read about. I wanted to know if you enjoyed what you’ve read and what did you prefer; darker or lighter themed pieces? Was fantasy a turn off or did you want to see more?

I wondered if you missed posts like this and if you’d ever read them again if I were to post them. I wanted to share about Camp NaNoWriMo and how I love watching anime because of how captivating the characters and arcs can be. I wanted to brag about posting pieces on deviantArt and about a woman who is seeking submissions of WIPs so she can add experience to her résumé as a copy-editor.

This blog, this alibi of mine, means the world to me. I may not have started it with the intent to reach the masses but I did hope that in sharing my world, I’d expand that of others and to do that, I can’t turn my back on the humanistic part of the blog.

Starting today, I will do better. I will post for both the challenge and myself. Who knows, maybe one day, I will actually help someone with my ramblings. And yes, a smile counts.

I don’t know when I’ll break through the fourth wall again but I promise, I’ll be back. I hope you’ll be too.

Maura

