Tags

image

 

One of these days I’ll finally learn. I’ll keep indoors with the doors and windows locked. I won’t overwork myself. I’ll leave a little room for me time. I looked around the room and let go of each impossible future. One of these days I’ll learn but it wouldn’t change a thing. A cage would be my home for the rest of my forlorn existence.

A shadow stretched across the floor and my stomach dropped with dread. I was wrong. It wasn’t a forlorn existence, it was a cursed one. My walls are lined with my achievements. Noted psychiatrist, renowned in my field for incorporating the beliefs and techniques of the various camps within Psychology, and where did that land me? In a room full of excess extravagance. And my captor? You wouldn’t believe me if I told you.

I lifted my chin as he strode forward to wrap his hands around the bars. I, apparently, was his new pet.

“Fine morning for you now, isn’t it?” His mouth stretched into a wide grin and I swear it shined more than his blue gray suit did. “You shouldn’t let yourself get so down. You’re part of a very important collection.”

“Dallin, isn’t this a bit extreme?”

“Extreme? Nonsense, this is an honor. You, Doctor, won’t be killed, harmed, or sacrificed in our upcoming games and you get to listen to me all day.” His hands fell away from the bars but his smile remained. It was a promise; I will die in this place, in this cage.

