Tags

, , ,

image

 

That’s what happens when two people like that meet. I rolled my eyes and gagged. Kissing was gross. I missed their constant bickering. They’d yell at the top of their lungs, hurl things, use bad words, and on funny days, they’d prank each other. It was loud but it was better than watching them ignore me so they could keep kissing. Gross. Gross. Gross. If that’s what I have to look forward to when I grow up, I don’t want to.

My name is Alex. I’m twelve. I hate cats and I’m stuck inside the kitchen cubbard, listening to my cousin and my next door neighbor make out. Every time I think they’re done, I slowly crack the door only to groan internally. How can two people who hate each other stay glued together like that?

I adjusted myself so I could rest my forehead on my knees. It was supposed to be a fun game of hide and seek. We only have one tv in the house and my dad already commandeered it. That left us with board games, card games, kiddy games, and running out in the rain. Mom would have a fit if I sloched water in the house again so going outside was a big, red no. My cousin, who is currently feeling up my neighbor, vetoed board games. She has something against monopoly and losing. My neighbor, who should be playing with me and not my stupid cousin, hates card games. He claims its like gambling.

“What in the world?!” My head popped up a little too fast at the sound of my hero earning me a good bruise to the back of my head. I was officially too big to be hiding under the sink. But who cares? Mom was home and I was going to be free. “Casey Anne Ramsey! What do you think you’re doing? You’re father sent you here to get away from boys not maul them.”

I tried not to snicker, I really did, but it was better than I could have planned. Mom was going to rip her a new one. I wiggled excitedly in my hiding place. If I went out there while mom was on her rampage, I’d get it too. I’d get it worse.

Instead, I sat in the cramped cubbard and waited. I waited and waited and waited till finally I tumbled out of the cubbard with a hard landing and a soft grunt. As expected, mom wasn’t too happy to see me smiling up at her.

I got grounded that night but I also got some good blackmail on my cousin. I grinned up at the whirling blades of my ceiling fan. It was going to be a great week at the Ramsey house.

