Tags

, , , ,

We did it, we all made it through the strains of November. Shorter days came, Thanksgiving came, crazy family members came, NaNoWriMo came, and finally, finally, December has come. With the fifty thousand words deadline no longer looming over my head I feel free, somewhat. My novel calls to me every spare chance it can. It invades my dreams, interrupts family time, steals ideas from shows I’m watching, and joins me in church. I may have finished November, but I have yet to finish my novel and because of that, it haunts me.

If you read last week’s post, “Bragging Rights”, then you know I want to continue with my daily writing in hopes that 2014 will usher in an end to the first draft of my novel. It would be the greatest way to bring in the new year. That said, I will have a major challenge on my hands. A good chunk of December will be spent in New York. Not a problem if it wasn’t a vacation with family and friends.

Here’s where you and hopefully my own newly acquired determination will come in. I may fall off the wagon at times so I invite each person who chances upon this blog or reads regularly to cheer me on with a weekly comment or like so I know you’re there in my shadowed support section. It gets kind of hard to make out who’s there from time to time. Believe me, I will return the favor and may even shout you out in next week’s post (if you aren’t against it).

But, enough about that. Let me tell you about my literary post-NaNo’ crash.

I came into December with a newborn gleam in my eyes. I was going to write and write till my fingers bled the words out for me. It is now the third and I’ve probably written five hundred words. That is sad considering I averaged two thousand words a day in November. I can’t be too hard on myself though, I’m not sure why, I really will defend myself from my inner critic.

I took a step back and tried to see what I did do between the first and the third. Since the month blew in, I got the first Monday blog post up on time (a triumph for me -go read about Cordiia), I caught up with the people I abandoned last month for my novel, I got back into my role-plays (such a great outlet – I may or may not post some so you can see) , and I did some plotting for my novel. I’ve given names to members of a catalyst group that my MC has to deal with and the events leading up to my now blurry ending have changed.

It’s like a fresh start. All that’s left is to get up, brush off the plot-dust-bunnies and Go. Forget the two hundred, I’m flying around the board till I own everything.

Two weeks ago I promised to reveal the cover to my novel…I think. NaNoWriMo has fried my brain so excuse my errors.

Forebode Cover

It took me two to three hours of constant work and harassing my sister for her opinion but it came together. In the future I hope to get a more professional version done. Till then, I’m thrilled with it. You have no idea how long it took me to come up with that key idea.

Now, back to those who are willing to be my cheering or coaching section. I’m going to do something I rarely do, I’m going to give out my email so you can do it on your own time.

You can reach me at marsreine@gmail.com

I’ll figure out the coding and get a permanent widget in place for future references. Thank you for those who are willing and for those who aren’t, thank you for at least reading this far.

This will be my last NaNo’ title and post. For the rest of this month my Tuesday posts will consist of my journey through December in terms of my new goal. Wish me luck and while you’re at it, visit Trish (ElitistGeek) and T.J. (TJ Edwards) and send some encouragement their way. Trish plans on finishing her novel in time for the new year as well and T.J. has decided to scrap his original ending and rewrite a fun sized chunk of his novel. They call them drafts for a reason.

Please excuse me, it’s time for me to get back to my novel. It’s patiently drumming its fingers and I doubt it’ll let me sleep if I don’t push out another thousand words.

~Maura

