Tags

, , , ,

Imagination and creativity gives me ADD when I least expect it. I will be writing, and loving it mind you, then suddenly a brand new idea or want pops into my head like an unmonitored sim. Let’s paint! I wonder if I can draw a foot. Wouldn’t it be cool if I turned my avatar’s face into a tiger? I should try my hand at pixel art.

I could never ignore my wants when they can be fun or challenging. I have made a multitude of badges/pixel art so far. They are small with sizes ranging from 20×20 to 40×60. Anything bigger and things start falling apart but that never stops me from wanting to try my hand it again.

A few days ago, while I was browsing through deviantart, I chanced upon an eye tutorial. I ended up doing it and to my surprise, the eye turned out amazing (see below). When I started, I thought it was going to be a huge flop. That didn’t deter me any. I pushed through my own doubts. I highlight, shaded, blended, and blurred till my hand cramped. It took me four or so hours to do all that work. It was that investment that made this not so simple eye such a huge accomplished moment for me. I for one am extremely proud, flaws and all.

Image  Image

(Start and Finish)

I tried doing a nose….turned out crooked and was too short in my opinion. Others claimed it was great. Tried adding a mouth. I hated it but, again, others loved it. From the lack of photos shared you should be able to tell I am not so proud of those. But the point is, I tried it out. My creativity wanted to flow into another channel and I flowed with it. It was fun, exhilarating, and definitely challenging. It made me respect graphic artists that much more, especially computer graphic artists who make such realistic looking work.
Next time you’re bored, try another outlet and if you’re still unsure, browse through the work of others. I recommend deviantart but that’s just my strong opinion.

