Tags

, , , , ,

For the month of July I plan to write every day. It will be a daunting task that will challenge me in more way than one but I’m committed to seeing this through. Some days I will be adding to current, on going manuscripts. On those days I will post here as more of an update or vent. I may or may not opt to write a little extra. Depends. But for the regular challenge days, expect to see a prompt and my take on it.

Here we go. Day One.

Prompt: BREAKING UP WITH WRITER’S BLOCK

Write a break up letter with Writer’s Block starting with “Dear Writer’s Block, it’s not you, it’s me…”

(prompt taken from the Writer’s Digest Books, The Writing Prompt Boot Camp)

_____________

Dear Writer’s Block,

It’s not you, it’s me. Lately all I’ve been doing is placing blame on you for my own failures and when I’m not blaming you, I’m bad mouthing you. I know it got back to you, all the harsh things I’ve said, and for that I’m truly, deeply sorry.

All you’ve ever tried to do was push me to be the best I can be. I didn’t see it then. I couldn’t. I was too blinded by self pity and anger. It felt like I was being beaten down every day. I mistook your help as attacks. The silent treatments you used to break me out of my tunnel vision, they never worked but not because you didn’t try. No, it was because I didn’t try. I failed you when I failed myself.

You challenge me in mental ways no other can. Now that I know all you’ve attempted to do for me, I can go on with my eyes wide open. But, like with any couple who experience such hardships, I think we’re too broken to be fixed. It took me far too long to find my feet and even though I’m grateful for how you’ve helped me, I can’t shake my resentment. I don’t want to hate you and the more I think about it, I don’t want you to hate me.

I’m going to take some time off to just be on my own. I hope you find somebody else who will challenge you as much as you challenge them. You deserve a happy ending.

Forever yours,

Maura D.

(c) 2013

